In The Writers Basement: Interviews with Jena Perry

This weeks Q&A comes from the website of my class focus which is Linkedin.com The question i posted is:

 Why do you think it is so hard for people to find their career calling or perosnal path? Which one of these imapcts our decision making the most: culture, family background, Society?

The response that  engaged me the most came from Taiese Nevels from Texas. He is a Lean Improvement Engineer at GE Vetco Gray. He stated that:

They all play an integral part in why people struggle with finding their calling either in a career or personal. A person’s culture may sway them not to explore or dream bigger than where they are or even more caustic is the cultural expectation for the person. When you are looking at the hardship of finding a calling the foundation rests on the family background, in the instance of understanding the working of the person’s mindset. How can you find a calling if you are too deeply planted on the family background? Most people stay where they are comfortable reducing the level of exposure to challenging situations which may press them to be directed in the lane of finding their calling. In regards to society, it always plays a good hand in limiting the perceived ability of the person to pursue bigger dreams and goals, that could eventually lead to finding the calling in career or personal. All these factors, play equal roles that impact why it’s so difficult for people to find their career calling or personal path. You only live once so, step outside your comfort zone to stretch yourself, learn something new or just be exposed to various productive successful people. One last note, most people don’t spend enough time with themselves to understand who they are, what their passions are or what really drives them to begin to find their career calling or personal path.” 

As a 24-year-old suffering through a mid-life crisis, this answer resonated with me, because it actually helped me understand why it is so hard for 20 somethings like me to find their place in this country. there are so many opportunities yet we have family and cultural obligations that can either hold us back or act as a navigator on which path we decide to take. I figure, we know the destination; its more so of finding the best path to take. As a single parent, the last sentence in his statement really hits home, because time to myself is so scarce and i know if i had more time to just sit and organize my life goals, my GPS would have been found the fastest route already. The other responses were also equally accurate and they all had a universal message: people need to take the time to find and develop their passions in life. MORE ARE MORE THAN WELCOMED TO COMMENT!!!! till’ next type…

 

 

One thought on “In The Writers Basement: Interviews with Jena Perry

  1. “…a 24-year-old suffering through a mid-life crisis…”

    I had my first one at 18.

    For me, the roadblock to finding my career path was interest. I’ve done many things in my life; a respiratory care clinician working w/ high risk infants (s/u and maintenance of life support, emergency transport, monitoring arterial blood work, etc.), a professional performer (http://www.facebook.com/album.php?id=100000013531480&aid=51968), and now a Social Media professional. The latter has only happened in the last few years, and I’m still in the process of making it happen completely.

    I wish I had taken the time to examine closely what it is I really wanted to do when I grew up years ago, as when I do I think the SM route might be the way to go.

    Good luck in your journey; perhaps you’ll find your way sooner than I.

Leave a Reply

